About the Project
About the Project

Charles W. Clark

Photograph of Charles W. Clark

Charles W. Clark (b. 1952 in Minneapolis, Minnesota) is a NIST Fellow (awarded in 2010) and a Fellow of the Joint Quantum Institute of NIST and the University of Maryland (awarded in 2007). He is also Physical Sciences Editor for the DLMF project. A graduate of the Seattle Public Schools, he received his B.A. in mathematics and physics from Western Washington University, and a Ph.D. in physics from the University of Chicago. After a postdoctoral research associateship at Daresbury Laboratory in the U.K., he joined the staff of the National Bureau of Standards (now NIST).

Clark’s current research interests are the dynamics of ultracold atoms and its application to quantum information, applications of synchrotron radiation, and the exploitation of atomic and molecular physics processes for new methods of neutron detection. He is coeditor of the following books: Atomic Excitation and Recombination in External Fields (with M. H. Nayfeh), published by Gordon and Breach in 1985, Atomic Spectra and Collisions in External Fields (with M. H. Nayfeh and K. T. Taylor), published by Plenum Press in 1988, and Atoms in Strong Fields (with M. H. Nayfeh and C. A. Nicolaides), published by Plenum Press in 1990.

Clark was elected a Fellow of the American Physical Society (APS) in 1992, of the Optical Society of America (OSA) in 1994, of the Institute of Physics in 1999, of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) in 2001, and of the Washington Academy of Sciences in 2003. He has been a Visiting Fellow at the Australian National University, a Dr. Lee Fellow at Christ Church College of the University of Oxford, and Visiting Professor at the National University of Singapore.

Clark received the R&D 100 Award, Distinguished Presidential Rank Award of the U.S. Civil Service, Archie Mahan Prize of the OSA, the Physical Sciences Award of the Washington Academy of Sciences, the Gold and Silver Medals of the U.S. Department of Commerce, and the NIST Bronze Medal and Edward U. Condon, Safety, and Equal Opportunity Awards. He has served as Chair of the Division of Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics of the APS, Chair of the Physics Section of the AAAS, and as Program Manager for Atomic, Molecular, and Quantum Physics at the U.S. Office of Naval Research.